Now that we’ve had some posts and a few readers, I think it’s only fair to take a little time to reintroduce us, the writers, to you, the readers. As we’ve discussed before, there is a lot of pressure in martial arts for the instructors to be seen as legitimate or authentic. The first step of that, of course, is to let you guys know who we are and why we’re writing.

The interesting thing about this is as part of this post I’m going to be introducing Patrick, the guy who posted the last video. Unfortunately, I can’t get a hold of him since he dropped his phone in a river, so I’m going to have to summarize his pedigree and background as best I can and let him correct me later.

As for me, I’m Brian Brock, also known by beforethefire on my blog. I’m a black belt instructor in Applied Martial Arts, a mixed-discipline self defense style. Applied Martial Arts is a flexible, adaptable self defense system for helping people develop the martial skills required to survive a wide range of violent scenarios, from simple one-on-one encounters to the more complex, high stakes situations often only encountered by law enforcement and warfighters. As an instructor for the system, I can also be seen as a researcher. I try to develop my understanding of interpersonal violence and fighting from case studies and my training in other disciplines. I’m belt-ranked in both Taekwondo and Gracie Jiu-jitsu. Another one of my responsibilities is to continue developing Asay Jiu-jitsu, a basic grappling and ground defense program in Applied Martial Arts.

Left to right: Jared Emfield (Gracie Jiu-jitsu black belt), me, Ryron Gracie

Left to right: Jared Emfield (Gracie Jiu-jitsu black belt), me, Ryron Gracie

Outside of martial arts, I’m a father of three and a dedicated husband. I’m also an English teacher, hence the insane amount of writing I seem to be comfortable with. I live in Idaho.

Patrick Asay, the other contributor to this blog, is a black belt in Taekwondo, Kung-fu, Uchudo, and the creator of Applied Martial Arts. Patrick developed Applied Martial Arts as a way to find practical applications for the martial skills he developed in his traditional martial arts training. He was motivated by his need to protect himself while living in Hawaii, where he became engaged in numerous street fights. Patrick crossed-trained with numerous martial artists and law enforcement professionals on his quest to refine his system. As a result, Applied Martial Arts is a system that covers many ranges and conditions that occur in real-world violence, such as striking, grappling, ground fighting, weapons, obstacles, and injury.

Patrick is currently looking for a new phone.

There you have it, the men behind the proverbial curtain. The last thing you need to know about us is the reason for our blog. Our vision when we first started posting was to create a community of martial artists who could discuss training and application of martial arts in a respectful, objective manner. So far, we’ve had great input from some of our readers on everything from belt ranks to training journals. Check out the comments on our posts to read them! We hope to see more people following this blog and responding to the posts (especially if they disagree), and I look forward to reading your responses.

What is your martial arts background?

Comments
  1. patrickasay says:

    I hate it when phones just randomly want to go swimming. They may be “smart”phones, but seriously, they have no idea the consequences of such actions. BAD iPHONE! BAD!

Leave a Reply

