JiuJitsu Sucks…(but not really!)

Posted: June 19, 2013 by patrickasay in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

A film about a Mcdojo, “Foot Fist Way,” shows some of the horrors to be found in people who care about martial arts to make money instead of quality, legitimate instruction.

Here is a clip of an interview with the head instructor (a complete A$$) and a potential student. (Hilarious, by the way! Must watch!  It’s darker than “Enter the Dojo,” but funny nevertheless.)

Okay, so I was asked by my esteemed colleague, Brian Brock, my Grand Eternal Master (haha j/k), to write up a blog post about what small changes I would make to Jiujitsu.

The very first thing that came to mind was the misconception in many traditional martial arts like Karate, Taekwondo, Kung Fu, etc. (all three of which I hold black belts in so I do not mean to belittle those arts in ANY way) have regarding fighting on the ground…and how they actually TEACH their students to never let a fight go to the ground because their education in their respective style will prevent that from ever happening.

Now, this is not a problem I have with Jiujitsu (I actually could not come up with something I would want to change about Jiujitsu [because I love it so much and also perhaps I am too inexperienced to muster up something solid]…just something I would like to happen in the world of traditional martial arts regarding the acknowledgment of the importance of implementing a “ground-game” for the just-in-case.)

Anyway, I have met (and even trained under) martial artists who do not believe in ground fighting.  I have a serious problem with this.  Now, if there are multiple attackers you NEVER would want to go to the ground and commit yourself to one attacker while the other three will just beat you as you’re on the ground.  But…if there are not multiple attackers, and you must fight to survive, you can probably bet that your experience in grappling has a better shot at you winning the fight than staying standing and exchanging punches.  Anyone can punch and kick, whether they have martial arts background or not.  BUT NOT JUST ANYBODY can roll on the ground and protect themselves while you are strategically and skillfully controlling them and putting them in submissions.  They would have no idea what just happened to them.

I have two students, Kelsie (18 years old) and Kenzi (16 years old) who earned their second stripe on their white belt last week by submitting a random joe off the street (who I compensated for his humiliation) (male, stronger, substantially bigger, etc.).  When they were rolling with him on the mat and gaining superior positions all over the place, submitting him at every limb…HE HAD NO IDEA HOW TO HANDLE THEM, despite being bigger and stronger. He was a fish-out-of-water on the ground.  I was and am still very proud of them.  I actually train them tonight.

So…Jiujitsu sucks.  HAHAHAHAHA!!

If there’s anything I’ve learned about Jiujitsu, it’s that IT WORKS!  The mats don’t lie.  The “grand masters” of traditional martial arts who say that their “death palm technique” can kill a person with one hit to a secret pressure point on the body…well…I don’t want to necessarily say they’re wrong (because Brock is very diplomatic on this site and would get on my case lol), but I will say this:  how do they prove it?  If I told you that I am unsweepable to your average Jiujitsu Blue Belt…I could prove it by rolling with several Blue Belts.  And if I couldn’t be swept? Well then, I backed up my words.  And that is TRUTH.  I would gain reputability.  Words mean little, but Jiujitsu never lies.

Any thoughts?

Patrick Asay

Comments
  1. I’m a big fan of Jiu-jitsu as well, and I think it offers a lot more than even groundfighting. Jiu-jitsu is the art that introduced mainstream martial arts to range control, the importance of dominant positions, and the most practical, safest sparring methods for training. That said, I do think it’s time for Jiu-jitsu to evolve. It came to my attention when I realized mixed martial artists frequently train in more than one grappling art. I think it’s time Jiu-jitsu included all fight-worthy drills and skill development from wrestling and Judo. I also think Jiu-jitsu should involve strategic striking, or strikes that help close the distance, open submission opportunities, and so on. In my opinion, Jiu-jitsu should be a one-stop-shop for combative grappling. It’s still my favorite art, I just think there’s room for development to make even more versatile and independent of cross-training.

    PS. Those are some tough girls you train there!

    • patrickasay says:

      Yes, they are very tough girls! What makes it even most impressive is that these are also very girlie-girls…not tomboys who are stronger than most average guys. They weigh 100 lbs each. Anyway, point is that it goes to show that ANYBODY can train and become proficient, given enough time, discipline, and a fierce resolve to excel.

      Have you heard of Eddie Bravo’s Combat Jiujitsu? CJJ? Anyway, he has been working on the “new” idea (I really don’t know how “new” it really is) of starting on the ground with MMA gloves on and using strikes with their Jiujitsu. People can say what they want about Eddie Bravo, but I see him as an innovator, and, in the very least, someone who completely agrees, and is a strong advocate for, marijuana—errr, I mean the evolution of Jiujitsu.

      I’m with you on this one. I often times utilize CJJ with my students. I make sure that the strikes are not too hard, but mostly to keep each other aware of when a person can strike you on the ground, and how they can do it…in order to prevent it. The only variation between Eddie Bravo’s CJJ and my plagiarism (for lack of a better word) of it is that I still have my students train in the Gi while doing it.

      patrick

Leave a Reply

